Orlando Hit & Run Accident Attorney
Even when you know and comply with laws requiring you to remain at the scene of an accident, statistics compiled by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) reveal that not all drivers do the same. Every year, almost 25 percent of all crashes in the Sunshine State involve a hit and run. If you were hurt or lost a loved one in such an incident, you’re probably wondering about your rights. When you can’t locate the other driver, you certainly have concerns about getting the compensation you deserve as a victim.
Fortunately, Florida law protects your interests in a hit and run accident. It may be possible to locate the responsible motorist, but you still have recourse due to how insurance works in these cases. Our team at the Payer Law Group can explain the legal process and assist in seeking monetary damages for your losses, so please contact our office right away. You can set up a free consultation with an Orlando hit & run accident attorney, and read on for an overview of the basics.
Your Legal Options for Recovering Monetary Damages
Florida is considered a “no fault” state for purposes of insurance coverage in auto accident claims, which means you don’t have to show that the other driver was negligent in causing the crash. You file a claim with your own insurance company under your Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which is required by rules on minimum auto insurance coverage. Because you’re in a direct contractual relationship with your insurer, you file a first-party claim to obtain compensation for your losses.
The no fault laws in Florida are an advantage when you’ve been injured in a hit and run accident, because you have options under your required PIP coverage. Though it’s possible to investigate, locate, and pursue the hit and run driver, you still have PIP when these efforts are unsuccessful.
Insurance Compensation in Hit & Run Crashes
When you file a PIP claim with your own insurance company, there are limitations on the amounts you can receive for your losses. Our lawyers at the Payer Law Group can explain how the coverage works and will assist in dealing with your insurer. However, be aware that:
- If you purchased the minimum state requirement of PIP coverage, $10,000, you cannot recover more than this amount from your insurance provider.
- PIP pays up to 80 percent of your medical bills for qualifying, essential treatment, such as hospitalization, surgery, rehabilitation, physical therapy, and assistive devices.
- If you’re unable to work because of the hit and run accident, PIP pays up to 60 percent of your lost wages.
Set Up a Free Consultation with an Orlando Hit & Run Accident Attorney
If you were injured in a crash involving a hit and run driver, please contact our team at Payer Law Group. You can schedule your no-cost case evaluation by visiting our website or calling our Orlando, FL office at 407-307-2979. Once we have a chance to review your circumstances, we can get started on a strategy for seeking compensation.