If you have been in a minor car accident in Orlando, you may be wondering whether or not you should hire a lawyer. Florida is a no-fault state for car accidents, and so it may be best to utilize your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage after a minor crash. However, in other cases, hiring a lawyer could maximize your compensation and allow you to be made whole again.

Minor car accidents happen frequently. Maybe you were sitting at a red light and someone behind you stepped on their brakes too late and tapped the back of your car. Or maybe you were driving through a parking lot and someone backed out of a spot without checking their mirror and hit your car in a hit-and-run

When there is relatively little damage to both vehicles, it may be tempting to just drive off and go home, but that is not always the best decision to make. 

In some instances, a minor car accident may not seem like a situation where you need to hire a lawyer, but this blog post will cover when and why you should do so.

Are You Required To Call the Police After a Minor Accident in Orlando?

Aside from wondering whether or not you need to hire a lawyer after a minor accident, you might also be wondering if you need to contact the police. 

Some states require that you contact law enforcement and file a police report after a car accident, regardless of the nature of the crash. 

Florida statutes say that you need to immediately contact law enforcement if there is at least $500 of vehicle or property damage or if anyone involved has been injured or died. However, $500 can add up quickly, so it’s best to err on the side of caution and contact the police after just about any crash. 

If your minor car accident does not meet the requirements above, you may still file a report of the accident with the State of Florida. This is helpful for insurance purposes and can be beneficial to your case if you do hire an attorney to help you protect your interests. 

Consequences of a Minor Accident 

While you may think that there are no injuries to anyone involved or major damage to either vehicle right after the minor accident, that is not always the case. 

There are plenty of instances where a person sustains injuries as a result of a minor car accident but does not feel any symptoms until a few days after the event. Just because there are no obvious injuries to anyone at the time of the accident does not mean that you should rule out the possibility of any injuries later on. 

Injuries such as strained tendons, contusions, and stretched ligaments may appear after the fact. 

If you are injured, you will want to seek medical treatment and be compensated for your injuries by the other driver or their insurance company. And if the other driver was injured, they will want to do the same. 

Neither party wants to be surprised with a lawsuit that they are unprepared for. That is why it is important to file a police report and contact a personal injury attorney as soon as you can. 

What Do Do After a Minor Accident

After you have been involved in an accident in Orlando, Florida, there are several steps that you should take:

  • You should report the accident to Orlando law enforcement
  • Take pictures of the cars, collect phone numbers and contact information from the other driver and any witnesses, and gather as much information as possible 
  • See a doctor for any injuries, regardless of how minor they are 
  • Do not accept blame or apologize for the accident
  • Contact a personal injury attorney to make sure that you are protected 

Ideally, you would contact a qualified lawyer before speaking with any insurance companies. These corporations do not have your best interests in mind, and reaching out to an attorney first helps to ensure you proceed appropriately.

Contact an Orlando Car Accident Attorney for a Free Case Assessment

The best way to get help after a car accident or other injury is to contact an experienced personal injury attorney. They can help you build your case, advise you on the next steps, and help prevent you from paying for damages or injuries that you did not cause. 

Keep in mind that many personal injury attorneys offer free consultations – you can get some initial legal advice and learn about whether you have a claim worth pursuing at no cost. During that meeting, the attorney can let you know what you should do next – whether that means using your insurance coverage or pursuing a claim against the at-fault driver.

We proudly serve Orange County and its surrounding areas: