What You Should Know About Reporting an Injury at Work
Workers’ compensation in Florida pays benefits to qualifying employees who are hurt on the job or struggle with an occupational illness. Employees might seek medical treatment costs, compensation for lost wages, and other types of financial assistance. In order to obtain benefits, you need to take certain actions related to reporting the injury and filing claims on time. Speaking with a Florida workers’ compensation lawyer can help you with the details of your claim.
How Does Workers’ Compensation Work in Florida?
Most employers are required to have workers’ compensation coverage. It is usually obtained by purchasing a policy from a private insurance company or receiving certification from the State of Florida to become self-insured. This is generally received by large, financially solvent corporations.
Florida Is a ‘No-Fault’ State
Like most states in the U.S., Florida operates under a ‘no-fault’ compensation program. In basic terms, one does not need to show that the work environment triggered the injury in order to receive benefits. You will be eligible for benefits, as long as it can be demonstrated, at some point, that they were caused on the job.
Employees, who qualify for workers’ compensation, will receive an array of benefits including, but not limited to:
- Disability, Temporary or Permanent,
- Vocational Rehabilitation,
- Physical Therapy, and
- Necessary Medical Costs
How Do I Report an Injury at Work?
Letting your employer know is the very first step to initiating a workers’ compensation claim. Florida state law requires that you provide notice immediately of a job-related injury, either in writing or orally. Failing to provide notification within 30 days means that you might lose your right to receive benefits. Prepare yourself before informing your employer by writing down as much information as possible so that you can relay it efficiently and effectively. These details include:
- the data and time of the accident,
- how it occurred, and
- the types of pain and injuries experienced
Human resources will probably ask you to fill out a standard accident report form. It’s important that the report is completed as accurately as possible. They are typically used as proof, should your employer contest the claim. Information contained therein will be used against you in any legal proceedings, so it’s important to get right!
What Will Happen After I Report My Injury?
As soon as the injury is reported, your employer will notify its insurance company. They will determine your eligibility of benefits and in what amounts. A typical claims investigation will include:
- Evaluating medical and dental records (if applicable),
- Review your work history, formal education, and salary,
- Requesting a medical exam with their doctors, and
- Giving you an occupational health evaluation
Insurance companies must pay your medical bills promptly according to Florida law. Once a claim is approved, you will start to receive disability payments and other applicable benefits. It’s likely that insurance companies will reject or reduce payment claims.
If you have been injured at work and want to maximize your benefits with legal counsel, consider working with Payer Law Group. Our team of Orlando workers’ compensation lawyers has 30 years of experience fighting for people like you. Schedule a free, no obligation consultation by calling 407-307-2979 or completing our online form.