Most motorists know the importance of complying with state laws regarding auto insurance coverage, but the Insurance Information Institute’s Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists reveals that some do not. Florida has the dubious honor of ranking #1 for the highest percentage of drivers without insurance at 26.7 percent. As a victim of an uninsured motorist accident, you experience dual hardships. The first is the injuries you suffer due to negligence by the responsible driver, while the second comes when you find that he or she doesn’t carry coverage as required by law.
Our lawyers at the Payer Law understand the frustration you must feel, but you should realize that you do have rights under Florida law when involved in an uninsured motorist crash. We can explain them in detail after reviewing your circumstances, so please contact us to schedule a no-cost case evaluation with an uninsured motorist accident attorney. You might also find it useful to review some basics.
How Uninsured Motorist Crashes Work in Florida
You don’t have the option of filing a claim with the responsible driver’s insurer when he or she doesn’t have coverage, but you do have legal alternatives after an uninsured motorist accident. Your remedy stems from the fact that Florida is a “no fault” state for purposes of seeking compensation after a motor vehicle collision. You can recover for your losses by filing a claim with your own insurance company, under the required Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provisions of your policy.
While you don’t have to prove fault to recover amounts under your PIP coverage, you may still encounter challenges when filing a first-party insurance claim. Insurers are for-profit businesses, so they may try to limit the amount they have to pay out to you, even in a rightful claim. Our lawyers at the Payer Law are experienced in dealing with insurance companies, so we’ll fight to ensure you get the full amount allowed by law.
Compensation is Available for Injured Victims
When seeking payment under PIP in Florida, you may recover for:
- Up to 80 percent of your medical costs, including bills for hospitalization, surgery, physical therapy, pain medications, and other qualifying expenses; and,
- Up to 60 percent of your lost income, if you were unable to work because of your injuries.
However, you should note that your compensation is limited by the amount of PIP coverage you carry. If you went with the legal minimum in Florida, you may only receive up to $10,000.
Discuss Your Rights with an Orlando Uninsured Motorist Accident Attorney
If you were hurt in a crash with an uninsured driver, it’s important to retain experienced legal representation right away. Even when you’re dealing with your own insurance company, you may encounter challenges in recovering the compensation you’re entitled to by law. You can count on our team at the Payer Law to protect your interests in a first-party claim, so please contact our Orlando, FL office today. You can set up your free consultation by calling 407-307-2979 or completing our online form.