Understanding The Florida Workers Comp Laws
Florida is so much more than a state for tourism. While the Sunshine State features a lot of theme parks, beaches, and attractions, there are just as many workers. The entire state is filled with employees who work in various industries. They all are protected by Florida workers comp. The experts at Payer Law Group is here to inform the working class exactly what those laws are. We are the best personal injury attorney Orlando.
What Are the Laws?
- Statute of Limitations
- Limits on Benefits
- $863/week as of 1/1/2016 (FL Rate Table)
- TTD benefits = 66 2/3% of your avg. weekly wages, 80% for critical injuries (§ 440.15(1))
- TPD benefits = 80% of the difference between 80% of your wages pre-injury and your wages post-injury (§ 440.15(4))
- Impairment benefits are determined by your impairment rating (Impairment Income Benefit Calculator)
- Time Limits on Benefits
- Benefits begin on day 8 for disabilities that last less than 22 days (§ 440.12)
- If the disability lasts more than 21 days, benefits are allowed from day 1 (§ 440.12)
- Benefits for psychiatric claims stemming from physical injuries are limited to 6 months (§ 440.093)
- 104 weeks of TTD and/or TPD benefits (§ 440.15)
- Other Limits
- Double damages for injuries suffered by illegally employed minors (§ 440.54)
What Exactly are Florida Workers Comp Benefits?
Thankfully, Florida requires most employers to provide worker’s compensation insurance for their employees. The benefits included in this are a form of wage replacement. The amount you receive is dependant on how much your ability to work is impacted by the injury. In our state, you do not need to prove that your employer was at fault for the injury. The only requirement is that you were injured while working. Most accidental injuries and occupational diseases which occur in the course and scope of employment are covered by workers’ compensation. However, mental or nervous injuries are not covered unless they stem from a physical injury. Our personal injury attorney Orlando is here if you have any questions.
Will You Receive The Same Amount of Pay?
No matter how much your wages are, if you make more than $20 per week, your disability compensation will be limited to 100% of the statewide average weekly wage. As of January 1, 2016, the maximum weekly compensation was $863.
On top of medical care coverage, three types of benefits are also available. They include temporary total disability (TTD), temporary partial disability (TPD), and impairment benefits.
- TTD benefits are equal to 66 2/3% of your regular wages in most cases. If you can return to work but are unable to earn the wages you were earning prior to the injury.
- TPD benefits pay you 80% of the difference between 80% of your wages before your injury and what you are able to earn now.
- Impairment benefits pay you for any permanent disability resulting from your injury.
Call Us Today
If you get injured on the job, you deserve Florida workers comp. Here at Payer Law Group, we are experts. Our personal injury attorney Orlando is here for you. Our team is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for home, office, or hospital consultations. We have two offices to help serve you better in Orlando and Lake Mary. Our lawyers bring commitment and experience to your case, to ensure the largest possible settlement for you or your loved ones. Call us today, and we will ensure that you get the professional advice and information you need to move forward.