What To Do in Case of DUI: Orlando Car Accident Lawyer Advice
Driving under the influence is a serious offense on its own, but when an accident is a result the charges can get worse. Having the right knowledge of what to do after an accident occurs and having a skilled attorney from the Payer Law Group is a necessity to ensure you get the best outcome possible.
In Orlando, a blood alcohol content of .08 is considered legally intoxicated. Those under the age of 21 are prohibited from drinking any alcohol. If you are involved in an accident when you are under the influence you still need to report it. Your first priority should always be checking on other individuals that were involved to see if they’re in need of any medical attention.
Your BAC Tests
When an officer arrives on scene at the accident they will have you, the suspected drunk driver, do a field sobriety test. This is done via a breathalyzer. If your blood alcohol content is over the legal limit you will be arrested by the officer.
The officer will then take you to the hospital. At the hospital, a licensed physician will perform a blood test to verify the results of the breathalyzer. As the Florida law states, all individuals must comply with a requested blood alcohol content test by law enforcement or they risk being charged with additional offenses.
Individuals are highly advised to not make statements to the police during this time. Any statements you make during this time can be used by the prosecutor to hurt your case later. All questions should be deferred to your Orlando car accident lawyer.
Your DUI Hearing
The first time you appear in court is during an arraignment. This is done shortly after you are arrested and finished at the hospital. During your arraignment the charges are brought up against you and bail is set if you are required to stay in jail.
Once the arrest happens it’s important to note that your driver’s license will be suspended. It will remain that way until the trial is resolved or you request a hearing to temporarily give you back your privileges until the trial outcome is found. This hearing must be requested from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the date of your arrest. If you fail to meet this 10-day minimum, you forfeit your driving privileges until the outcome of the trial.
Your DUI Trial
It’s imperative to seek the assistance of an experienced Orlando car accident lawyer from the Payer Law Group. They have the knowledge of how to properly defend your case. Your Orlando car accident lawyer will be able to review what happened and provide you with a specific defense strategy to get you the best results possible for your individual situation.
When it comes to being charged with a DUI accident you don’t want to proceed alone. Contact an experienced lawyer to ensure you’re getting the best outcome you possibly can.