Florida Car Seats Laws You Need to Know
Any parent knows that protecting your child becomes your only mantra in life from the day they are born. That is why knowing your state’s car seat laws needs to be at the top of your list of Superhero Parent Knowledge. Ensuring that you are following proper protocol when it comes to your child’s car seat, not only puts you at ease concerning their safety, but it also saves you from potentially getting a fine. At Payer Law Group in Orlando, Florida we want to give parents all the need-to-know information about car seat safety in Florida. If you find yourself in an accident, be sure to contact a auto accident attorney in Orlando, Florida.
What Are the Fines?
Money can become an issue once you enter parenthood. To save you on unnecessary fines, you will want to make sure you are following proper protocol when it comes to car seat safety. Because—yes, even neglecting this simple procedure can earn you a ticket. And nobody wants that.
Above all else, these fines are there as an extra incentive to continuously check Florida’s car restraint laws. Child safety is one of the top priorities with it comes to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are unsure if you are up to code with your car seat restraints, you can always check the DMV website or even ask a state trooper to double-check your child’s car seat.
- $60 ticket
- 3 points on your license
Car Seat Laws in Florida
The laws concerning child car seats may differ from state to state. However, any auto accident attorney in Orlando can verify the following to be the current 2018 car restraint laws in Florida:
- Florida law requires that all children 5 years old or younger must be secured in a federally approved and crash-tested child restraint system.
- Florida law requires children 3 years old and younger must use a separate car-seat or the vehicle’s built-in child seat.
- Florida law requires that children ages 4 through 5 years must sit in either a separate car seat, a built-in child seat or a seat belt, depending on the child’s height and weight.
- Children under 18 years old must be in a seatbelt.
Other Requirements and Suggestions
When it comes to child safety, there are no limitation on what parents can do to help protect their young ones. Especially if a motor vehicle is at play. Car accidents are unpredictable, which is why parents should take every precaution they can to ensure their child is safe in their car seat. Here are a few more suggestions to ensure you are following Florida’s car seat laws to the best of your ability:
-We recommend that children 12 years old and under should ride in the back seat of the vehicle whenever possible. Air bags can cause extreme injuries when deployed, so it is best to keep your younger children away from this danger by ensuring they are safe in the backseat.
- We recommend finding a car seat that fits your child best, fits in your car without much hassle, and one that you can guarantee will be used correctly every time. If you find that your car restraint is difficult to maintain, you may want to try a different model.
- We recommend reading the car seats instruction manual thoroughly for all necessary information. Also, be sure to read your vehicle’s owner manual when you install a car seat as it may contain vital information.
- We recommend routinely checking for car seat and booster seat recalls.
- We recommended referring to the Florida Driver License Handbook for more information on seat belts and child restraints.
If you and your family have been involved in an automobile accident, call Payer Law Group and speak to an auto accident attorney in Orlando.