Florida Car Seat Laws
When it comes to dealing with wearing seatbelts in the car, every state is different. There is also a lot of confusion as to what is and is not an actual law. Here at Payer Law Group, we are here to clear up the air. We want to make sure that you are up to date on all car seat laws. We are the best Orlando personal injury attorney.
There is no contest, children should always be properly buckled whenever in a vehicle, no matter the size or age. It is essential for their safety. Some Florida parents are divided on the question of when its okay for a child to sit in the front seat or when to move to a seat belt and booster from a five-point harness car seat. It can be hard to get squirming bodies into those buckles, so many grownups look forward to the day when their children can simply buckle in themselves. But as with many parenting decisions, the short-term effort pays off in the long run.
Florida has its own particular laws when dealing with specific car seat legislation. These laws are intended to protect children who are not large enough for seat belts. If you need more information, feel free to contact our Orlando personal injury attorney.
What Are The Car Seat Laws?
It is the responsibility of the supervising adult to ensure that any child under 5 years old is seated in a federally-approved child car seat. Failure to do so could result in a $60 fine and 3 points against your driver’s license.
Florida law states:
- Children 5 years old or younger must be secured in a federally approved child restraint system:
- Children 3 years old and younger must use a separate car-seat or the vehicle’s built-in child seat.
- Children 4 through 5 years must sit in either a separate car seat, a built-in child seat or a seat belt, depending on the child’s height and weight.
- Children under 18 years old must be in a seatbelt.
- Florida law requires children age 5 and under to be adequately secured in a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device.
Here are some helpful tips if you are ever confused:
- The best child seat is one that fits your child, fits your car, and that drivers will use correctly every time.
- Read the car seat’s instruction manual and the portion of your vehicle’s owner manual when you install a car seat.
- Remember to check for car seat, and booster seat recalls.
- Refer to the official Florida Driver License Handbook for more information on seat belts and child restraints.
Though not required, the DHSMV recommends children 12 years old and under to ride in the back seat of the vehicle when possible. This is due to safety concerns for airbag deployment, which can be dangerous for young children.
Contact Us Today
Here at Payer Law Group, we are here for you and want to ensure you are up to date when it comes to car seat laws. Our Orlando personal injury attorney is here for you. Our team is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for home, office, or hospital consultations. We have two offices to help serve you better in Orlando and Lake Mary. Our lawyers bring commitment and experience to your case, to ensure the largest possible settlement for you or your loved ones. Call us today, and we will ensure that you get the professional advice and information you need to move forward.